



The Graduate School

DR. PAUL KINIERY Assistant Dean of the Graduate School

The Graduate School began to function as a distinct unit of Loyola University in 1926. Prior to this time graduate work of an academic character had been offered by several departments, but the ever increasing demand for advanced instruction prompted the President to found the Graduate School which was to have jurisdiction over the graduate degrees to be conferred by the University. Before the foundation of the Graduate School, however, a limited number of Master's degrees had been conferred.

The aims and purposes of the Graduate School are those of the University, that is, to integrate scientific, literary and cultural training with a sound philosophy of life based on Catholic principles of right thinking and living. From the beginning graduate courses leading to the Master's degree in Education, Law, Medicine, Psychology and Sociology were offered. In subsequent years there were added the departments of History, 1929; English and Social Work, 1930; Mathematics, 1931; Economics and Philosophy, 1932; French, 1933; and Chemistry, 1934. In 1932 graduate work in law and the Master's degree in Law were dropped. In 1933 the Master of Arts degree in Social Work was substituted for the Master of Arts in Sociology.

From the first year of its existence the Graduate School has offered the doctorate in education, although there have been times when the University has considered its abandonment. At other times there was so little interest shown by graduate students in psychology, that the department nearly had to cease operating on a graduate level. It was able to re-establish itself on a firm basis and today is an integral department of the Graduate School.

In 1932, History began to lead to the doctoral degree. The addition of West Baden College to the University in 1934 increased the number of students capable of taking graduate instruction. It was then that graduate work in Latin was added to the school's regular curricula, and shortly after that time the division began to offer degrees for work in English, Latin, and Philosophy.



THE REVEREND FRANCIS J. GERST, S.J. Dean of the Graduate School The school offers four degrees. The Master of Arts degree is the traditional graduate degree, with centuries of our educational history in back of it. The Master of Science is neither as old nor as traditionally recognized as the arts degree, but its prestige is now just as great. The degree of Doctor of Philosophy is the degree intened to indicate advanced and detailed research, including three times as long a period of sustained work as is entailed in the master's degree. The newest degree offered by the Graduate School is the Master of Education degree. This is of value mainly to teachers who must have a graduate degree in order to secure advancement. The degree has already established its popularity and teachers are flocking to it, away from the more stringent requirements of the Master of Arts degree.

The first dean of the Graduate School was the Reverend Austin Schmidt, S.J. After he accepted the full responsibility for the fortunes of the Loyola University Press, his ambition to bring the Press up to the high standard of excellency which it has reached under his management induced him to seek relief from some of his other duties, and in the summer of 1932 he was succeeded as dean by the Reverend Samuel Knox Wilson, S.J. Father Wilson remained as dean for only one year when he was named the President of Loyola University. Father Wilson was succeeded by the Reverend Francis J. Gerst, S.J., the present Dean of the Graduate School.

Steps have been taken to supplement the fields of learning with comparable courses in English, the classics, the romance languages, mathematics and education. Although it is true that the heart of a Jesuit university is its College of Arts and Sciences, it is equally true that its appendages must be of equal excellence.

The Dean of the West Baden College of the University has also the rank of Associate Dean of the Graduate School. He serves on the Graduate Senate and on several important University Committees. The highly trained staff of this division directs most of the work of the Jesuit Scholastics who are candidates for advanced degrees which they receive from the University.



Rear Row-R. Kennedy, M. Renesch, M. Denvir, D. Love, C. Garvey, M. Hayes, D. McGillen, M. Spehn.

Middle Row — N. Hruby, W. Browne, M. Cameron, J. Sugrue, G. Flenert, B. Fitzpatrick, J. Supple.

Front Row — P. Hummert, A. Kunka, G. De Flippis, V. Sullivan, A. Pope, R. Lucas.

